RSS Feed

Dire Wolves Diorama – Work In Progress (1)

The Sugarcubes ‘Mama’

It’s not very often that I paint something purely for enjoyment, but the dire wolves models are among my personal favourite miniatures. I’ve always liked horror movies – I used to enjoy the creaky Hammer Horrors when I was a kid; and I thought I could put the two together to make a small diorama. I also liked the Ladybird Horror classic books, and one in particular sprang to mind:

9780721407197

(The audio version of this is available on Youtube, incidentally)

Unfortunately, I had a dose of the painting/modelling equivalent of writer’s block, for some reason; and couldn’t really think of a distinct theme for the base – but when inspiration is lacking, it’s always better to cobble something together and use that as a starting point, as a way of overcoming mental blankness. Not an infrequent challenge, for me, admittedly.

014

So far, it’s just at the construction stage.

 

Leave a Reply

